Sunday, October 28, 2012

The Chakras

The Chakras

When the mind is attached to worldliness, consciousness dwells in the three lower centers. Then there are no high ideals and pure thoughts, and the mind is preoccupied with lust and greed. When the energy rises to the fourth centre, the heart or Anahata, spiritual awakening takes place. At this stage the heart is flowering with love, and man has a spiritual vision of the devine light. His mind then no longer runs after worldly pleasures. When the fifth and sixth chakra (throat and eyebrow) are awakened man becomes free of ignorance and all information is available to him through his intuition. Finally, when the energy reaches the crown chakra on the top of the head, man experiences Samadhi. Samadhi is a state where consciousness experiences itself and its oneness with God.

The above model suggests that the seven chakras are correlated with brain wave frequencies in such a way that the lower chakras are associated with low and the higher chakras with high EEG frequencies. Thus, the root chakra, Muladhara, is reflected in the brain by slow delta waves which signify instincts and survival functions. The 2nd chakra (Swadisthana) is indicated by theta waves which reflects feelings, emotions and drives. Low alpha reflects the 3rd chakra (Manipura) which is the seat of the Mind and its thinking. The 4th chakra is the heart (Anahata) and its brain signature is said to be high alpha. The 5th throat chakra (Vishuddi) is the seat of communication which is reflected by low beta waves. The 6th chakra or 3rd eye (Ajna) stands for intuition and is reflected in the brain by gamma wave frequencies. The 7th or crown chakra (Sahasrara) is the seat of cosmic awareness, and we do not know whether there are associated brain wave frequencies. This is only a hypothetical but useful working model which still has to be verified.

The seven ChakrasThe word chakra means wheel or disk in Sanskrit and signifies one of seven basic energy centers in the body. Each of these centers correlates with brain structures. As we have indicated in the above model, the chakras also correlate to levels of consciousness, and to archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds and body functions.

No comments:

Post a Comment